President Obama Signs Illinois, Oregon and Washington Major Disaster Declarations **THE WHITE HOUSE**

Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release

March 2, 2009

The President today declared major disasters exist in the States of Illinois, Oregon and Washington and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe winter storms in Illinois during the period of January 26-28, 2009, **in Oregon during the period of December 20-26, 2008** and in Washington during the period of December 12, 2008 to January 5, 2009

Oregon

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm, record and near record snow, landslides, and mudslides in Clackamas, Clatsop, **Columbia**, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, and Yamhill Counties.

In addition, assistance for snow removal and emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a continuous 48-hour period in response to record and near record snow is available to the State and eligible local governments in Clackamas, **Columbia**, Hood River, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington, and Yamhill Counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Dolph A. Diemont has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.