Dog Licenses can be obtained at the Columbia County Clerks office from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday thru Thursday. Oregon Revised Statute 433.375 requires that every person owning or keeping any dog which has a set of permanent canine teeth or is six months of age, whichever comes first, shall within thirty days after becoming the owner or keeper of a dog, and yearly thereafter, procure from the county a license for the dog.
A current Rabies Vaccination Certificate, from a licensed veterinarian, and Spay/Neuter Certificate (if applicable) are required in order to license a dog. The rabies certificate has to be current thru October of the licensing year. You may obtain a license for as many years as the Rabies Vaccination Certificate is current.
Fees: $30.00 yearly for unaltered dog; $15.00 yearly for spayed/neutered dog; senior rates are $5.00 for a spayed/neutered dog and $15.00 for an unaltered dog, only one dog per household at senior rate. All licenses are due January 1, but there is a grace period until March 1, after March 2 you can purchase a dog license with a $25.00 penalty.
If you have any questions, please contact the Columbia County Animal Control Division at 503-397-3935 or come to the County Animal Shelter, located at 2084 Oregon Street, St. Helens, Oregon.
Marriage Licenses are $50.00. There is a 3 day waiting period and the license is good for 60 days. Both parties are required to sign in front of a clerk before the license can be released.
The Columbia County Clerks office is a passport acceptance agent. You will need one passport photo and a certified copy of your birth certificate from the state you were born, in order to apply for a passport book or card.
Passport Fees, effective July13, 2010:
Routine service (Form DS-11), receipt within 6 weeks, fees are non-refundable.
Children under age 16 is $80.00 to Department of State (checks only) and $25.00 to the County Clerk (check or cash) and is valid for 5 years.
Age 16 years of age and over is $110.00 to Department of State (checks only) and $25.00 to the County Clerk (check or cash) and is valid for 10 years.
Passport Renewal by mail (Form DS-82, customer submits) is $110.00 You may qualify to use this form only if: 1) The issue date of your last passport was less than 15 years ago; 2) You were 16 or older when it was issued; 3) Your name is the same or you can submit name-change documentation; 4) You can submit this passport; and 5) it is undamaged.
Expedited Service (Form DS-11 or DS-82): Add $60.00 per application and 2-way Overnight Delivery. Expedite fee does not include overnight delivery. Customer must arrange for overnight delivery to ensure receipt within 2 weeks.
Routine service (Form DS-11), receipt within 6 weeks, fees are non-refundable. Children under age 16 is $15.00 to Department of State (checks only) and $25.00 to the County Clerk (check or cash) and is valid for 5 years.
Age 16 years of age and over is $30.00 to Department of State (checks only) and $25.00 to the County Clerk (check or cash) and is valid for 10 years.
If international departure is less than 2 weeks, or passport is needed for foreign visas, application at a Regional Passport Agency may be advised. Appointment required.
Visit travel.state.gov for more information.